Meeting with SCL 3rd July 2018

Our speaker at the joint meeting with the Society of Construction Law on 3rd July was the Rt Hon Lord Dyson. His paper on 'Privacy in Arbitration: How far should we lift the curtain on what happens?' is available in the Members Area.

Annual Conference

The Society held its annual conference at the Corinthia Palace Hotel in Malta from 4th to 7th May 2018. Conference papers and a selection of photographs are available in the Members Area.

How do Construction Arbitrators make their Decisions? A Perspective from Palestine

At our AGM and dinner on 21 March 2018 Haytham Besaiso presented a synopsis of his Norman Royce Prize paper based on his insightful research: "How do Construction Arbitrators make their Decisions? A Perspective from Palestine" together with a slide presentation.

Proposed new DIAC Arbitration Rules

At our excellent lunch on HQS Wellington on 15 February 2018, Ahmed Ibrahim, a partner at Fenwick Elliott, Dubai, gave us a most interesting talk on proposed new DIAC Arbitration Rules.

The Norman Royce Prize 2017

The President, David Cartwright, presented the winner of the 2017 Prize, Haytham Besaiso, with his cheque at the Annual Dinner on 2nd November.

A Sea Change? Cavendish V Makdessi - Supreme Court – New law on Penalties

Following her election to Membership of the Society, Joanna Smith QC gave a talk to the Society in respect of the Supreme Court change of law on penalty clauses in contract. Click here to download the talk in PDF format.

New SCA Supporting Member November 2015

Joanna Smith QC of Wilberforce Chambers is an experienced litigator in the field of construction disputes, often involving the professional liability of construction professionals.

Arthur Marriot QC

Arthur Marriot QC a stalwart supporter of arbitration and an internationally highly respected Counsel and Arbitration Member of the Society of Construction Arbitrators sadly passed away in September 2015.

Annual Conference, Toledo, Spain, Friday 1 May to Monday 4 May, 2015

The Society was honoured by the company of Antonio Sanchez Pedreño, President of the Madrid Chamber of Commerce Business Mediation Centre and President of the Madrid Chamber of Commerce Arbitration Court.  Sr Sanchez, under the topic “España” spoke to delegates about the effects of the recent economic turbulence and recovery in the Spanish construction industry, and of the growing importance of arbitration in dispute resolution.

Lunchtime meeting on Tuesday 20 January 2015

Members were joined by Mr Peter Allen, Head of Construction at Birkett Long LLP, solicitors. Mr Allen introduced the topic of Costs Management in Arbitration, drawing on his firm’s particular experience in the High Court of the TCC pilot scheme that preceded the CPR provisions introduced on 1 April 2013. His talk was followed by a lively discussion among the members.