News from the Society

Following elections at the AGM on 8 April 2020, the committee for the next 12 months will be Rowan Planterose (President), Julie Forsyth (Hon Secretary), Robin Orme (Hon Treasurer), David Cartwright, Christopher Dancaster, John Redmond, Neville Tait (co-opted), Simon Tolson, Melanie Willems and John Bishop.

Various slides and papers from the Society's Annual Conference in Valencia on 4/5 May 2019 are available to members.

Following elections at the AGM on 28th March 2019, the committee for the next 12 months will be David Cartwright (President), Rowan Planterose (Hon Secretary), Robin Orme (Hon Treasurer), Christopher Dancaster, Julie Forsyth, Kim Franklin, John Redmond, Neville Tait (co-opted), Simon Tolson and Melanie Willems.

The Society of Construction Arbitrators Norman Royce Prize of £4,000 is be awarded to the author of the best paper on a topic relevant to or touching on domestic or international construction disputes, including, but not limited to, their resolution and avoidance; and the lessons to be learnt from them. See: full details of the 2019 prize and also the formal prize rules.

Our speaker at the joint meeting with the Society of Construction Law on 3rd July was the Rt Hon Lord Dyson. His paper on 'Privacy in Arbitration: How far should we lift the curtain on what happens?' is available in the Members Area.

The Society held its annual conference at the Corinthia Palace Hotel in Malta from 4th to 7th May 2018. Conference papers and a selection of photographs are available in the Members Area.

At our AGM and dinner on 21 March 2018 Haytham Besaiso presented a synopsis of his Norman Royce Prize paper based on his insightful research: "How do Construction Arbitrators make their Decisions? A Perspective from Palestine" together with a slide presentation.

At our excellent lunch on HQS Wellington on 15 February 2018, Ahmed Ibrahim, a partner at Fenwick Elliott, Dubai, gave us a most interesting talk on proposed new DIAC Arbitration Rules.

The President, David Cartwright, presented the winner of the 2017 Prize, Haytham Besaiso, with his cheque at the Annual Dinner on 2nd November.

Following her election to Membership of the Society, Joanna Smith QC gave a talk to the Society in respect of the Supreme Court change of law on penalty clauses in contract. Click here to download the talk in PDF format.