A paper by John Uff CBE, QC, delivered to the SCA/SCL Joint Meeting which took place on 6 July 2010, is available on our publications page.

The Society is pleased to welcome the following new member during 2008 - Robin Orme MA, MPHIL, DIP ARCH, RIBA, FCIArb.

The Society's Annual Conference 2010 was held from 30 April to 3 May at the Kenzi Menara Palace Hotel, Marrakech, Morocco.

The Society's Annual Conference 2008 was held in Budapest on 2-5th May.

The Society lost one of its most active and distinguished members on 2 November 2007 when Harold Crowter passed away. Harold was a Quantity Surveyor of huge renown and a highly respected arbitrator. He had recently retired as Hon Secretary of the Society.

The Society is pleased to have welcomed the following as members during 2007:

One of the Societies most distinguished Arbitrator Members has been awarded an Honorary Doctorate by Leeds Metropolitan University. The President and all members of the Society extend their congratulations to Ray.

It is with great sorrow that we heard that Gilbert Powell had died on 4 January 2006 at the age of 78. Gilbert Powell was qualified both as an architect and a quantity surveyor and became a very distinguished construction arbitrator. The Society extends its deepest sympathy to his family.

19 December 2005

The Society welcomes two new Overseas Members: Charles Molineaux, from Virginia USA, and Colin Wall, from Hong Kong.

May 2005

The Society held its Annual Conference at the Geroge Hotel, Hathersage, Derbyshire, over the weekend 14-15 May, 2005. Papers (which may be viewed by clicking on the name) were presented by distinguished guests: Dr Robert Gaitskell, QC; Kim Franklin, Barrister and Chartered Arbitrator; and Teresa Cheng, SC, JP, Hong Kong.